About the changing world all around us

Delicous hotpot on my table

Delicous hotpot on my table

This must be the funnest dinner I have had in a long long time. My friend and I made chinese hot pot and gathered the family around the table for an oriental delight with seafood, meat, dumplings, fish-tofo and fresh vegetables…all going in to the pot of course a little bit at a time!

My good friend Patricia called me yesterday and asked if we had any plans. My friend and her husband play bridge with RennyBA and I, and it has been ages since we got together. She wondered if we wanted to eat together, and of course I said yes. It was just like the good old days. You see Patricia and I met at our Norwegian class. We are both married to Norwegian men and arrived in this strange land less than a month apart. We hit it off quickly in our Norwegian class back in 1999, and have been friends ever since. In the “old days” we would go shopping in the district of town where there is the most asian food, Torggata in Oslo Center (those coming to the Blog Gathering can also visit here) and we would buy some good asian food to make for dinner. I for one love Chinese food, and missed the good food from New York. I always argue we have the best Chinese food outside of China, but of course I may be predjudice. To me at least it tasted like home and I always wanted to learn how to make these great tastes. Patricia lived with her family until she moved to Norway, so she actually hadn’t cooked that much herself but she knew a lot from her mother. So we experimented together and we learned a lot, and had lots of fun too.

Adeptly slicing the salmon

Adeptly slicing the salmon

Now it is some years later and Patricia has gotten quite good. However you need not be a master cook to make hot pot. Patricia and I went on a shopping trip in the Asian supermarkets and bought lots of delicacies to have in our hot pot. Chinese hot pot is made with a simmering metal pot of spiced stock at the center of the dining table. While the hot pot is kept simmering, ingredients are placed into the pot either set in to cook for a short time or in small basket spoons (so they don’t sink) and are cooked at the table. Our hot pot dishes were shrimp, scallops, salmon, cod tongue, pork, beef, leafy greens, bitter melon, asian cucumber, fishtofu, tofu, butter beans, several types of mushrooms, tofu, wontons, chinese meat balls and fish patties. The cooked food is then eaten with a dipping sauce. As you can see in the picture it was quite a lot of food. Good thing my two sons joined us for dinner, and I can assure you everyone was stuffed, and no we did not manage to eat it all.

Hot pot ingredients

Hot pot ingredients

But we sure did have a fun time trying!! Today we were at Holmenkollen Ski Jump and will soon be posting about that, so stop back soon and visit RennyBA for more culinary adventures!

Comments on: "Chinese Hot Pot 火锅 party in Oslo, Norway" (13)

  1. Delicious indeed. Now I’m hungry.

    Have a terrific day. Big hug to you and Renny. :)

  2. I enjoy Chinese food a lot. When we lived in San Francisco we ate in Chinatown quite often. Last time we were in New York we found a restaurant – don’t remember its name – you had to take an escalator to the second floor. Once there the open area was very large. All the patrons, apart from a couple or two, were Orientals. We don’t know what we ordered, but it was good. We asked what it was, but when we were told, it was “Chinese” to us…

  3. Oh it looks marvelous! Today I had a quiet food day, and still my stomach isn’t well.

  4. It looks delicious, but I don’t think that the best chinese food is in Norway, lol ! The best I ever ate was in China Town in San Fransico, which is the biggest community outside China. We ate in a small restaurant where no “white people” were ! I had never seen such chinese food. The one you find in Europe is always a little modified to our tastes. In Europe it was in London’s China town, that was real good too and only Chinese people. Mr. G. had a chinese collegue who of course new the best addresses.

  5. I lobe huoguo (hot pot)!

    I had delicious Chinese food around the world, from Belize to Ottawa, from Australia to Argentina. Even Peru specializes in “chifa” (which comes from “chifan”, “to eat” in Chinese) because there are many immigrants from China. But I have no doubt Norway has great Chinese food, because it seems to have a lot of fresh ingredients!

    And Norwegian class… wow again. I know you speak the language, but thinking of you studying it makes me… wow :lol:

  6. My mouth is watering – that looks absolutely divine.

    Hey, nice to see your words again after such a long delay. Hope you and Renny are well.

    Take care, my dear.

  7. Very good spread there Diane and we called this the SteamBoat…more popular and a must during our Lunar New Year during our traditional Reunion Dinner.

    Nothing beats the warmth of the hearty soup, usually it is chicken broth and for some, they will beat an egg or two into the boiling soup before cooking individual items inside.

    I am so glad you enjoyed it, we have never try putting salmon pieces but seeing you having it, we just might? If you add in chunks of corns inside, the soup can be very sweet too.

    I’m hungry now ;D

  8. This is a good spread for a Chinese steamboat meal. I would love to show you how to cook a few different soup bases for the steamboat and some easy Chinese dishes.

    Hope I have a chance to visit you and Renny in Norway and spend time together.

  9. … and you know the best thing is to share moments like that with you :-)

  10. Hi hi, I can imagine how you the two of you are cooking together.
    And not to forget the result.
    Looks really delicious.
    We want to taste one day, or evening;)

    Have a great weekend, all of you

    btw. Sorry I did have a cold last Wednesday (still have some)

    hugs
    T
    A is asleep after a looong week at School
    Even the cats are zzzzzzzzzzz

  11. Sounds good! You did a great job with your friend! I enjoy to read the story of the meeting between you and your friend! Really nice! I imagine the great time you had all together eating the fabulous cooking!

  12. Looks like a lot of fun making it at least! Together is the best recipe, right?

    I’m no fan of Chinese food but since I’ve never tasted it this way I can’t really tell, can I? *giggles*

  13. sorry for bothering! I am a newcomer in oslo! I want to go to asia market, not just vietnam market. Can u tell me where is the asia market? Tusen Takk!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

