About the changing world all around us

I am breaking up my Malta Posts to bring you Good Friday dinner :-) We are now in the Easter weekend and most of you should have the weekend off now. We are leaving tomorrow for Renny’s home town Porsgrunn for our annual Easter Bunny Egg Hunt, read about it here at RennyBA’s Terella. I spent half the day combing the stores for alternative Easter goodies and food to meet the needs of our 3 family vegetarians. Renny’s niece is a vegetarian, his son is a semi vegetarian and very health concious, and my darling boy Justin is Vegan – which means he don’t eat eggs, milk, honey, or any product coming from animals. So I had to fax the Easter bunny a list of acceptable foods. The Easter bunny is very understanding about this, being a vegetarian himself….

For the traditional Easter eggs we had to avoid milk and gelatin which is used in most of those gummy candies. So this year the Easter bunny will have to find milk free dark chocolate, bannana chips, nuts, lollipops (not containing bees wax) and hard candy (same). For the kids eating regular candy we have some of the usual fare as well. I think everyone will be pleased.

Then for the traditional Easter cookout on the fire. Since the veggi group aren’t big on hotdogs I made grilled vegetables. These are finished here in my oven and will be packed in foil and layed in the fire until they are rewarmed. This actually works out well because the seasonings I added have a day to mix into the potatoes and vegetables.
Here is the recipe. Non vegetarians like it too!

grilledveggies

Vegan Althernative, Grilled Vegetable Medley

Grilled Vegetable Medley
Ingredients:

1 red pepper, chopped
1/2 pound whole button mushrooms sliced
1 lb potato weges
12 whole cherry tomatoes
1 small zucchini, sliced
1 large Spanish onion
2 pieces corn on the cob cut into pieces
1 garlic clove chopped
salt and ground black pepper, to taste
parsley, to taste
oregano, to taste
basil, to taste
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 cup Italian dressing

Mix together and grill in thoe oven for about an hour.

friedhaddock

Southern Fried Haddock

Then I had the urge to make fried fish just like my mommy used to fix, of course she bought it on her way home from work freshly fried and didn’t actually involve herself in the frying of it but since I don’t have that option I learned to make it myself. And share the recipe with you too!

Southern Fried Fish

Marinated in creamy buttermilk, coated with a crispy cornmeal batter, and then deep friend to a golden brown, flaky fish prepared Southern-style is divine.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup water
salt and pepper, to taste
1 pound haddock fillets
1 1/2 cups fine cornmeal
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
seafood seasoning, salt, pepper, paprika to taste
vegetable oil for frying

Directions: In a small bowl, mix buttermilk, water, salt, and pepper. Pour mixture into a flat pan large enough to hold the fillets. Spread fish in one layer over bottom of pan, turning to coat each side, and set aside to marinate.
In a resealable plastic bag, combine the cornmeal, flour, and seasoning. Add fish to mixture, a few fillets at a time, and tumble gently to coat evenly. Heat oil in deep fryer to 365 degrees F (185 degrees C). Fry fillets until golden brown, about 3 minutes. Avoid overcrowding so fillets have room to brown properly. Fish should be slightly crisp outside, and moist and flaky inside. Drain on paper towels.

homemadecoleslaw

Homemade coleslaw

Then to add to the American flair of my Good Friday dinner I had the urge for coleslaw. Haven’t eaten that in ages and it really feels like a summery dish, and since the weather has been so good and the skys so blue…I wanted coleslaw with my dinner. The photo isn’t as good as the dish but it does show off my antique english china set hehehe. The red on top is paprika I sprinkled over to decorate it. Tasted wonderful! And again I will give you my recipe!

Diane’s Coleslaw

I head finely shredded cabbage
1 large shreaded carrot
2 tablespoons minced onion
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
1/4 cup milk
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup buttermilk
1 1/2 tablespoons white vinegar
2 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice

Directions:

Finely shredd cabbage and carrots. Place cabbage and carrot mixture into large bowl and add minced onions.Mix dressing until smooth. Pour over vegetable mixture and mix thoroughly. Cover bowl and refrigerate several hours before serving.

Honestly I don’t think I’ve ever waited more then 15 min before taste testing this hehehe…but I do make it first so it gets chilled before eating.

Hope you all have a Happy Easter Holiday. Drop in and tell me what you are doing this weekend!!

Comments on: "Good Friday Fried Haddock" (11)

  1. Fantastic! The entire meal looks wonderful!
    We finally had ice out on our lake today! And I think spring is coming!

  2. Great idea for the vegetable medley! I tend to steam or stir-fry but I’ll keep your recipe in mind. I’m an occasional vegetarian (I don’t eat much meat :-)) and I must say it looks super good.

  3. Now that looks like one awesome meal! My very good friend is Vegan and I actually follow a lot of a Vegan type diet so I know very well alternatives to eat and still love what you eat.

    I love your fried haddock recipe although I know I won’t make that at home, I’ll be making my way out to our fisherman’s wharf soon to enjoy some fried fish.

    Gatherings and food are always fun!

  4. lifecruiser said:

    Looks mouthwatering, so now you got me really hungry :-P

    *off to the kitchen in a minute*

  5. Yummy. I’m hungry now too. What a feast. Enjoy.

    Have a blessed Easter. :)

  6. Looks a wonderful easter meal! I love your eggs theme! Tomorrow I ‘ll go by my sister festing Easter with her grandchildren! We should taste the Easter Lamb!

  7. We would have been very tempted to make another flight to Oslo, Diane, if you had invited us! :D It all sounds and looks divine. I can almosyt taste it!

  8. Oops. That should have been me at In Soul, not at Shutterchance. Sorry about that. Btw, I have just finished the post on the 3 museums we visited while with you. I can’t begin to tell you how fun it’s been to revisit all the pictures and memories again, with every new post! Tusen takk!

  9. Those are some fine recipes! I’m from the South, and that all speaks my language. One question: what are the names of those ingredients in Norway? We just moved to Oslo late last summer and I’m still looking for cornmeal among other things!

  10. mouth watering!

  11. Hiya Diane…I hope everything if fine and well with you and Renny….Big hugs to both of you :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

