About the changing world all around us

Today is my mom’s birthday. She passed away the 9th of November and is sorely missed in her baby girls life. She always taught us not to forget her birthday, and if you forgot a card or present you were in big trouble. I remember when her husband passed away the following Christmas she asked my brother to buy her a Ipod with her husband’s money and pack it in, because just because he passed way was no reason not to buy her a present!! So here is my present Mom! I miss you! Hope it posts ok.

[rockyou id=110091540&w=426&h=320]

In momory of a great mom

Comments on: "Honoring my mom’s memory" (14)

  1. What a beautiful slideshow! It looks great! 🙂

  2. Oh Diane I’m sorry. You must miss her terribly. She looks quite young. And she looks like a lovely person.
    Send cyber hugs to you!!!

  3. I’m sure she is very much missed by everyone she once knew, especially by her family. Think of your best memories on this day and don’t be too sad. I’m sure she’s proud of you.

    Hugs too!

  4. Oh Diane, I know how you feel right now, and how much you miss her in your life. Your mom seems to be a nice lady and fun to be with.!
    Happy birthday to your mom, and this is a great gift! She must be smiling right now reading this….
    Take care and Have a great weekend!

  5. I know you have a hard time because of this my dear. Not only have you lost your Mom, but also a real good friend.

    I’m glad I can be there for you, to hold your hand and hopefully ease some pain.

    Lets not forget all the lovely memories, also from her visits to Norway. Your Mom was a great person and will always have a special place in my heart – like You!

  6. I’m sorry you lost your mom so early. What a beautiful tribute, Diane. Your mom would definitely approve! You look like her a great deal, a lovely thing to carry on!

  7. oh diane, i know a day like this can be hard. i hope happy memories like what you share in the pictures can be a comfort today.

  8. To Maribeth, Zhu, Pinyay Jade, RennyBA, Ruth and Lime:
    Thank you for your nice comments. My mom was only 63 when they discovered she had cancer after a brief illness and was gone within 2 months. It had already spread to several organs. Otherwise she was never sick and never got old, so I suppose in a way that is something to be grateful for. She was young, active and vibrant her whole life. We were very close and stayed close even after I moved to Norway. I think of her every day. It’s getting better these days, but some days like birthdays are tougher then others. Thank you again for your support!

  9. On a side note, the grown up boys are my brothers, the man with ‘cookie ears’ is my late stepfather, and the good looking teens are my sons…and you may recognize a fellow blogger among the pics too!

  10. That’s a lovely tribute. I’m sure your mum would approve.

  11. I’m sure your Mom would have loved this lovely tribute to her, so full of love and warmth. You seem like a really close loving family.

    I hope all those wonderful memories are a great consolation to you and your boys.

    Take care.

    *hugs*

  12. What a beautiful tribute to your mother!!! My sincere sympathys…you mother was very young…the pictures will help you and yours keep the memorys strong!! Best Wishes…H

  13. Thanks for all your support. Today I finally was able to understand this feeling of that part of me died along with my mother. Some philosophers and psychologists say that we don’t have one fast identity, but that we are slightly different people in different situations. To put it simply I am not 100% the same person when I am with Renny, as I am when I am alone with my boys, or when I am just with my friends, or when I am at school, or work and so on. Each person and situation brings out different sides of us when we are with different people. The part of me that I feel I have lost is the ‘Diane’ I was when I was with my mother. The way I felt, the way I acted, the unique sides of my personality she brought out in a unique combination is in many ways ‘gone’ along with her. Because each person is unique and no other will ever be like my mom, then nobody else will ever bring to life that special part of me that was hers.

  14. Wow. That was … hmm, i can’t find the words for it, but it’s left me with that feeling of having learnt something important. A moving post.

Leave a Reply

