About the changing world all around us

Dating for grownups

I remeber when I was a teenager I thought the perfect date was getting all dressed up, going to a fancy restaurant, maybe dancing afterwards. If he was really good he might bring flowers or a little gift. Not surprisingly I went to the Senior Prom (ball) 3 times! Two times with older dates who were going to their senior Prom, and the last time was my own Prom πŸ™‚ White dress hair up, blue dress off the shoulder with a shawl, pink dress lot of curls and an artificial tan LOL!!!

rbabikedate

Time went by and we grew up, and now the perfect date is so much more then it was in my teenage years. A perfect date can be a picnic on an island in the middle of a lake or fjord, it can be walking on the roof of the opera house, or a golf game for just us two. Today it was a bike ride in a charming country town in Sweden. (That is certainly someplace my prom dates never took me!) The wind blowing my hair, messing it up. Reminding me what its like to be alive, taking my breath away…making my heart pound. I remembered what it was like to go fast on my bike as a small child, and I had the urge to laugh into the wind.

pansies1

Stopping we were breathless with a fresh glow to our cheeks. We enjoyed the local events, and seeing what the town has to offer on an early spring day. My date didn’t have on a tuxedo, but I didn’t care. He didn’t bring me flowers, but we shared the flowers, the birds, the sunshine together. He didn’t buy me a small present, but he has bought me a home.

Togetherness is what is important. Spending quality time together to keep the love alive and the child inside us all happy. What is your perfect date, share with us!

Comments on: "Dating for grownups" (24)

  1. I guess everyone now can understand why I love you and love to have you in my life and as a life time companion. I’m a grown up too you know and your definition of a perfect date match deliciously!

    I’ve also made a post from today and it really shows how much we balance out each other – its great to read about it from your perspective you know πŸ˜‰

  2. What a lovely post!! I had a date with my husband of 23 1/2 years tonight. It was a business dinner but it was wonderful to look at each other from one table end to the other. One look and we understand what we mean πŸ˜‰
    We were dressed up for the others!!

  3. RennyBA: We make a great team!! I think you are kind of romantic, and just my type…lucky I got to you first!!!!!!

  4. I think I recognize that man! πŸ˜‰

    Lovely pics of the pansies, and I just came from Renny’s post about your date. Sounds like you had a great time.

    Hugs,

    Diane

  5. Ummm… I’ll take an afternoon together,
    just the two of us. It’s not lowered
    expectations, it’s being appreciative
    someone wants to be with me.

  6. i could not agree more! this is a case in which i think i see where growing up we appreciate the more childlike and simple pleasures better. πŸ™‚

  7. Oh this is such a sweet post. The perfect date you described is pretty much the date I love. We have everyday dates…we go out and walk after dinner and just appreciate the nature around us. It’s good to be alive!

    I agree” Togetherness is what is important. Spending quality time together to keep the love alive and the child inside us all happy”.

  8. Mar: I know that kind of wordless communication πŸ™‚ And getting dressed up sometimes isn’t bad either!

    Diane j: Yes my date was a cutie!! Since you mentioned the pansies I have to confess that Renny took that pic. We shared the camera yesterday and I liked his better then mine…give credit where credit is due.

    Seraphine: Being with someone who wants to be with you – thats like the best part.

    lime: We learn over time the value of the small things in life. Sometimes growing up isnt so bad after all.

    Pinay Jade: I am glad you have a special person to share your life with too, we are lucky you know. Don’t take them for granted!

  9. You know, I am a hopeless romantic, and I think sometimes I make Hubby crazy! LOL. But one thing is for sure, even after 21 years together we are still best friends and still want to always be with each other!

  10. I’d say doing anything together that makes me smile and lets us appreciate the time is good enough.. But really, P actually loving the time out, enjoying bird watching while I can photograph…

  11. When I was young parties and dancing would have made the perfect dates for me. Dancing still brings out energy in me that I did not think I have but it is no longer a recipe for a perfect date.

    For me it is now a night away with my partner (no children allowed) in a picturesque location, preferably surrounded by mountains. We go for walks, browse the village shops (bookshops are a joint favorite), watch DVD’s (together) – simple things.

  12. Is that a message for Renny? πŸ˜‰

    You sound like a little romantic girl in this post (I mean it in a good way!), it’s cute!

    I’d say moments when we are both relaxed and laughing are the best, no specific place.

  13. A perfect date for us is to go for a run together, fixed a meal later and then enjoy a great movie.
    πŸ˜€

  14. The perfect date is together with the one you love. It doesn’t matter what we’re doing or the surrounding, it’s the magic words: love and together that really counts….

    Outdoors in the nature always is a good option in our case, it has so much beautiful scenery to offer as a romantic frame.

    Well, I don’t know if I will call a prison the best dating place normally, but this one, mentioned in my last post, definitely starts the fantasy too!!!! *giggles*

  15. Oh, and thanks for all the nice comments, I’ve been to my Mom’s funeral this week and after that I catched a cold, but I’m back on track now again… I think…

  16. Maribeth: Being together is the most important part, but you know you have to keep romance alive too. There’s only one way to make sure you get romance, work at it.

    Expatravler: Sounds like you have something to build your quality time around. Keep it alive πŸ™‚

    Sueblimey: Oh sounds like you should come to Norway, it’d be perfect for you πŸ˜‰

    Zhu: I love to laugh together too, having fun is the best therapy in the world and something to help love grow.

    Shionge: Runner huh! You have way more energy then we do….golf or biking is the most active we get…of course then there is dancing….

    Captain Lifecruiser: Glad you are back, I still have Kalles Kaviar if you need a talk hehehe. It always seems like you and Mr Lifecruiser have a wonderful thing together.

  17. A perfect date is anytime spent together– a walk on the beach while talking and enjoying the fresh air is a recent favorite.

    Best to you and Renny for a wonderful weekend.

  18. Lisa: Thanks, hope you had a good weekend too…and a wonderful date or two as well, I know we did!

  19. My perfect dates are much the same as yours…just spending time doing simple things in nature…a canoe ride, a picnic lunch at the rapids, a walk in the woods, a drive in the fall…I actually hated the dating scene when I was young. It was too formal for me. I never even went to a high school prom. II was too picky and wouldn’t go with just anyone just so I could go.! I had to really like them. I didn’t go to one until my 3rd year collegfe at 21! It was fine to get dressed up once in awhile but I prefer earthy!

  20. perfect date for me? umm… i have a date. hehehe ;p

  21. So neat to see you 2 are so happy. Good to see you again and share this with you. Have a great weekend and thx for your continued visits even while I was away. *Lots of Lov’n*

  22. Off the shoulder dresses are so uncomfortable anyway. Jeans and sweaters are much better attire for a date πŸ˜‰

  23. What a lovely trip on bike! I remember the date as if it was yesterday! I was in a student night party when I saw an elegant man dancing around me! This man was known by my best friend. Three days later as I was at the entry of the university my friend gave me a letter. It was a love declaration of this elagant man I saw at the party!!!! That’s the way I met my husband!

  24. You two are a perfect match! And that both of you met, coming from two different countries thousands of kilometers apart!

    Wish you many more good years to come. πŸ™‚

    Happy Mother’s Day Diane!

Leave a Reply

