About the changing world all around us

My personal therapists

One key to keeping sane in my life is my friends. I do have real life friends…in case you were wondering with all my time on IMVU!! When I relocated to Norway I really learned how important my friends were. My good friends back home are still there for me but I missed that daily contact, and building a new friendship network doesn’t happen overnight. Thankfully if you take care of your new friendships they do bloom and a new network of friends usually builds over time. When I say time I mean time, the closest friends I have here are all people I’ve known more then five years.

I do have to very special friends who have been through a lot with me. We worked together for five years before I started at the shelter, and have been there through thick and thin. To take care of our friendship we take several girl trips per year, usually to Sweden or to my friends cabin, and we meet each week for a walk. We all need the exercise and the girltalk…and frankly I don’t know which one is most valuable. I think in the long run it may just be the girl talk!! These trips get me out of the house and always bring me back to sanity even in the most difficult times!

Friends in the forest

This is a quote from an unknown author, it actually came from a forward but its worth sharing anyway:

“Time passes… Life happens.. Distance separates… Children grow up… Jobs come and go. Love waxes and wanes… Hearts break… Parents die… Colleagues forget favors… Careers end. BUT…..

Sisters are there, no matter how much time and how many miles are between you. A girl friend is never farther away than needing her can reach. When you have to walk that lonesome valley and you have to walk it by yourself, the women in your life will be on the valley’s rim, cheering you on, praying for you, pulling for you, intervening on your behalf, and waiting with open arms at the valley’s end. Sometimes, they will even break the rules and walk beside you…Or come in and carry you out.”

That is what girlfriends are all about:-) Give yours a call today!!

Comments on: "My personal therapists" (14)

  1. It’s funny I have three best girl friends. One since childhood and the other two I made in my grown years. I would trust these women with my life. Sadly we do not live close and our writing is all that keeps us together. But it works, and makes the times we can get together all that much better!

  2. Always! Always there for each other, you bet all my girlfriends are very precious to me and I’m glad you have yours with you too 😀

  3. I lost quite a few friends when I moved abroad but the friendship that lasted is stronger than ever. Making friends in Canada took time… I felt so lonely the first year.

    But it all came together little by little.

  4. my closest and dearest ones moved away 5 years ago. i just spoke last week to one of them and she shared such exciting news with me. i don’t know what i’d do without her in my life.

  5. oh and yes, the movng to a whole new culture….it requires so much time but it’s so worth it. my friends from trinidad are so dear and precious. they became my family away from home.

  6. I really miss my friend who lives in Florida, and another one who lives in Spain. I need to get in touch with them very soon. I’ve been friends with them since I was a teenager. Your post is so true! 🙂

  7. I couldn’t agree more. My ex’s job involved moving around the country every couple of years. I met most of my girlie mates through my sons’ schools. When I moved house on my own a couple of years ago, without the school network to fall back on it was very difficult to make new friends – thank goodness for my old ones 🙂

  8. Marybeth: Having moved away from my home town I know exactly what you mean. I have four girlfriends from back home that keep in touch through the net. These are the kind that you may not have seen in a couple years, but within a couple minutes together its like you were never apart. Precious!

    Shionge: I don’t know what we would do without them!

    Zhu: Oh the first year is the worst!! I now make it a point to invest time in the friendships I have. I think that just like a marriage you have to commit and make time. You all know I have a rather hectic life, but I make appointments with my girlfriends and those are Holy!! Our weekly walk in the woods is so important because it means we meet regularly at the same time, no arrangements needed. Its a standing date.

    lime: The new bonds I have made here are also like my family away from home. I can’t be with my family of origin that often so I really have to rely on my new network to keep me grounded here. But yes, it is worth it, I am happy where I am now!

    SwordMama: I do believe there is a meaning for everything that happens – maybe you read this post to remind you to give them a call?

    Diane: I am glad you’ve got good people to hang on to! I think I would go nuts if I had to relocate every few years. I have a friend with a husband in the military that went through that. Glad you’re done with that fase!

  9. Moving here to Norway meant having to start anew with friends. When I first got here, I only had two friends, but now I’ve gained more. My partner even tells me I now have more friends who I see or get in touch with on a regular basis than him. 🙂 When one’s away from home, it’s the friends that make the days easy and homesickness go away.

  10. freshmess: You are so right, we need them more then ever!! Didn’t mean to exclude my guy friends either!!!

  11. Sometimes I wish I could be a fly on the wall on these girl trips of your – sometimes not 😉

    Btw: I’m calling, calling, calling – do you reach me? 😆

  12. Yes, girlfriends are vey precious! I have one from childhood and we are like sisters! One I met when I did theater and one who works in the same scholl I am! We are used to run each wednesday, because scholl is closed! But since a week she has got problem with her knee! I think we’ll have to walk now and not to run! I like your picture in the full nature!

  13. frieds would really keep you sane even if they are insane. i’m thankful for my friends 🙂

  14. So, how are you doing in the summer heat? We’ve got cloudy weather today and it’s getting more chilly over here.

    Time for other activities than eating ice cream? *giggles*

    So have you considered signing up to Plurk yet? It’s much more fun than Twitter etc! I wanna see all my friends in there!!!

    Invitation to Plurk

    Click in the link above and then click on the sign up link on that page. Start exploring Plurk and socialize with me and all other buddies in there pleeez 🙂

    Anybody else reading this is most welcome too – the more the merrier!

Leave a Reply

