About the changing world all around us

Since some have asked me about my potato salad I will say there is no secret other then to make it a bit in advance so the seasoning settles in and gives good flavor and to make it often. I don’t actually measure any of the spices but here is an adjusted recipie which includes all my ingredients. It can’t be summer without potato salad!!

Potato Salad and fresh tomatoes

Potato Salad and fresh tomatoes

Old fashioned potato salad

2 lbs. potatoes (5 to 6 medium), peeled and cut into chunks
1 cup mayonnaise
2 Tbsp. vinegar
1-1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. sugar

1 tsp Dijon mustard

1 tsp Italian seasoning mix

1/4 tsp. ground black pepper
1 cup thinly sliced celery
1/2 cup chopped onion
2 hard-cooked eggs, chopped (optional)
Paprika for decoration

Cover potatoes with water in 4-quart saucepan; bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce heat and simmer 10 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Drain and cool slightly.

Combine mayonnaise, mustard, vinegar, salt, Italian seasoning, sugar and pepper in large bowl. Add potatoes, celery, onion and eggs and toss gently. Decorate top with paprika for a nice color. Serve chilled or at room temperature.

Fresh made hamburgers with potato salad...yum!!

Fresh made hamburgers with potato salad...yum!!

Comments on: "Old fashioned Potato Salad" (14)

  1. Oh don’t you just love potato salad? It’s one of my favorite things in life! It probably explains why I will be a lifelong member of Weight Watchers! LOL

  2. I can tell everyone, this is the very best potato salad I’ve ever had – made with love and care too. Lucky me dear 😉

  3. Ooh that sounds yummy! I’m gonna add to my delicious bookmarks. Thanks for sharing! 😀

  4. Maribeth: My potatoe salad isn’t exactly points friendly hehehe! Although now that I think of it I had a low fat recipie, will have to see if I can find it again, wasn’t bad. Although potatoes are still potatoes!! I added pics now…looks yummy!!

    RennyBA: I’m so happy you like it too cause this just tastes summer to me!!

    SwordMama: Hope you try and and like it. Feel free to change the recipie, its really good with bacon in it too, I add that sometimes.

  5. Mmm looks good even though I’m not the biggest potato salad fan 😀 Thanks for stopping my blog, I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!!

  6. I bookmarked the recipe! I love potato salad, one thing I first ate in Canada.

    I basically like salad without lettuce (lettuce is boring ;-)) for the summer. My favorite mix is:

    – Eggs
    – Corn
    – Tuna
    – Avocado
    – Tomato
    – Rice
    – Peppers

    All chopped and mixed in a big bowl. I add the seasoning last.

    It’s fresh and yummy!

  7. Zhu: Sounds delicious, I ilike all those ingredients. Rice based salads are really good too, as is maccaroni. Do you use mayo or oil based dressing?

  8. I was just about to ask about your potato salad recipe on your previous post! May I here wish you a belated Happy 4 July, and thank you too for the wonderful recipe.

  9. Wow, this sounds really good. I little different. I’ll give this one a try. Thanks and have a great day. 🙂

  10. Aw man – that just looks sooooo mouth wateringly yummie!! I think it’s time that I start a recipe book. I’m one of those boring cooks-you know : macaroni & cheese on Monday, fish, rice and veggies on Tuesday etc (you get the picture).

    Hubby is diabetic so I use that as an excuse to not make new dishes. Time to put an end to the boring schedule – Tomorrow it’s Diane’s potato salad!

  11. I love potato salad and I leave the skins on (more vitamins!) plus add chopped dill pickles! I love ribs too! We do pork back ribs but today I bought beef ribs that are huge so we call them “Flintstone Ribs”!

    (I.m still posting sporadically but just did one with pics of our reno etc.!)

  12. I love potato salad and this is one recipe I have to learn. Made with love. OH! My son is going to love this. He’s training to be a chef. 🙂

  13. Interesting about the inclusion of Italian seasoning. My receipe is similar but features pickle relish instead. I’ll have to give this a try!

  14. I cut the eggs up and mix ’em with the potatoes, mayo, etc.

Leave a Reply

