About the changing world all around us

Hi everyone!

I am just here to stay that I am still very much alive. I’m sure you would have read about it on Renny’s blog if I wasn’t hahaha! Things have just been a little hectic this week.

Monday my youngest son started at Rud high school and is specializing in electronics. When he is finished he will be qualified for higher education – and he will be a licensed electrician. And we are sooo glad for that because we really need to do some rehabilitation around this house. Now if he could kindly make friends with a carpenter and a plumber we are in!!

University of Oslo

University of Oslo

My oldest son started his classes at the University of Oslo as well. They have a lot going on for orientation weeks so he was out almost every night and poor mother has to get used to him not coming home until the wee hours of the morning. But since I am encouraging him to live at home the first year to save money and avoid having to take a student loan, then I guess I’ll just have to treat him like a normal freshman. Which well he is, its just that he’s my baby!!!

I am very proud of them both and they are so enthusiastic about school this year, starting at a new place and learning something they are interested in. They do us proud!

And of course I am just a lowly student myself. I had a couple meetings with my research partner to talk about my upcoming Master’s thesis. I will be working on it all year long and will most likely disappear for short (or longer) periods from time to time when I am working towards a hefty deadline!!Β  Being a grown up student, I also have to work…which I am doing this weekend. Three 12 hour nightshifts in a row (zzzzzzzzzZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzz – oops sorry!)

So now you know why I’ve been neglecting my blogging! Hope you all have a fabulous weekend and I will check in on you soon!!!

Comments on: "Back in the swing of things" (12)

  1. Hello Diane
    Nice to hear your sons and you are good studients! I wish you all three a nice schoolyear.
    i begin to work tomorrow! It isn’t for my class but for a stage with pupils who need some revisions! Poor children! I hope they won’t be to much worry working before all others! I understand if sometimes you are deadline because i did a master in 1987 working in the same time and during this time I had a lot to do but it was fascinating to learn so much! And I liked the university atmospher!

    DianeCA
    : I feel very lucky to be studying as an ‘adult’. I appreciate it much more. It just gets a little extra busy sometimes!

  2. Oh Diane, what a beautiful picture you have at the top of your blog! Lovely!
    Have missed you! Hope you have more of a chance to blog now that fall is nearly here!

    DianeCA: Thanks, I had to find a butterfly that better matched my background πŸ™‚ I’ll be around as often as I can.

  3. The butterfly picture is really pretty. It caught my eye right away. πŸ™‚ I am excited for all of you – I really wish I could take some classes too, but I think I need to save up first. Good luck with all of it. πŸ™‚

    DianeCA:
    Luckily by working on the side I didn’t have to take a loan to study the past two years.

  4. No matter how grown up our kids are, we tend to want to mother them. kakaka….. Both your sons are making you proud. πŸ™‚

    You take care, dear. Looks like you have taken on a lot, but Renny will be there to support and help you.
    You go, girl! I’m cheering for you.

    DianeCA:
    Thanks! I am extremely proud of my boys. They are fine young men…but I am still their mommy!!

  5. Hehehe ! now you go through that with your oldest son ! I wonder what kind of “orientations ” he is looking for until early morning hours ! You will quickly get used to it. Nothing is worse for a young student then a mother who complains that she “can’t sleep because he is not in yet” ! In the beginning I had one upstanding ear until he came home, but then as everything went smooth I just slept !! My son was here over the weekend and as usual I got the impression today that a thunderstorm went through the house ! Phone ringing, friends coming in and out and fridge robbing !

    DianeCA:
    Yes, if I want him to save money by living home the first year then I have to put up with the late nights. The worst part is teens don’t understand what a big favour we are doing by encouraging (almost with force) that he live home. Its not to inhibit his freedom he will save literally thousands of dollars by avoiding taking a student loan the first year. He wants to take a 6 year long education, he is going to have enough to pay back as it is!!

  6. Oh my, you and your family are busy, busy, busy! But will very good things. πŸ™‚

    Best wishes to you all as you start back to school

    DianeCA: Thanks! We are busy but things are going along just as they should in the big picture. Everybody is getting the most out of life, what more could a mom want.

  7. Sounds like a busy time of year, but your boys sound like they are doing great πŸ™‚

    DianeCA: Its an exciting time as well. Everybody has something to tell about their day at dinner time at least!!

  8. oh wow!you`re such a cool and tough mom yourself,Diane!I can relate so well with you!Goodluck to your kids…and yeah,just thinkin bout my eldest leaving our home makes me sad already.. πŸ™‚

    i may say that moms are just so busy…more than dads eh?haha!and our priority goes to our homes.

    a big hug!!!
    ghee

  9. Good luck to you and your sons, all in your respective courses this year. You are one busy lady! Are their courses in English? Do they speak Norwegian?

    Summer is drawing to a close here too..it went down to 4C last night but it is still sunny and 23-28 now and for the next week when school starts. The sun rises at 6:35 and sets at 8:05. How is it there?
    You are a braver and tougher person than me to go swimming in that cold water!!!

  10. Hello Diane! It’s so exciting to hear about your sons coming back to school, and was it J who goes to UiO? Goodluck with your master’s thesis! I remember when I submitted my college thesis, I had to shave all my hair off afterwards. I needed my brain to breathe! Hahaha!

  11. Funny how life just overtakes you soemtimes and gets int he way of blogging! Good luck to your son at high school!

  12. Ouch – 3 12hr night shifts. IT’s so exciting to see where your kids are going and they are getting so big and so ready to continue onward. What’s even more amazing is that they are doing it in Norway…

Leave a Reply

