About the changing world all around us

I mean that completely and absolutely! It is late summer and the weather is fading. Fall is approaching. You can feel it in the night and early morning air. Our days of sunning ourselves in the far north are fading fast. That is why today when I saw the lovely sun shine I sent a text message to my best girlfriends and said I wanted to take a trip to the beach after work.

Oslo fjord

Oslo fjord

I picked up one of my friends and we all met at the others house around 7:30 PM! I love the Norwegian summers, not many places you can start your beach trip at 7:30 and still have some fun. We took a lovely 40 minute walk to the beach (for exercise) discussing a book the girls have been reading, the various houses and gardens along the way and practically everything else under the sun.

When we got to the shore we were good and warm and ready for a quick dip. The weather as I said is going fast and the water wasn’t more then 17 degrees Celsius (63 F) but I have become used to the cold waters and just love to swim no matter what the temperature.

When we came up from the water we settled ourselves on the shore, changed out of our swimsuits into a nice warm sweatshirt and sat by the sea with coffee in hand. One of my favourite things is to listen to the waves, the birds and the boats while sharing girl talk with my friends. It was a wonderful evening and left me glowing with health and happiness!

Comments on: "Beaches are good for the soul!!" (17)

  1. I agree the beaches/ocean can do wonders for the soul. I’m so glad you had a great time. This is exactly what life is all about. Have a great day. Big hug to you and Renny. πŸ™‚

    DianeCA: I just know that water does magic for me!! Hugs back at ya!!

  2. This sounded like a wonderful trek. I love water… period! Hope you have a wonderful week

    DianeCA: Cleanses the soul…and the babies…hope yours is doing great!

  3. Sounds like so much fun!! πŸ™‚ I can’t agree more about the beach!

    DianeCA:
    I like to enjoy the beach all year round. I don’t always have to go in the water, just listening to it is so soothing.

  4. I must agree with you, there’s just something about the beach that soothes my soul.

    DianeCA: You could have taken one of your long bike rides there…nothing like hopping in after a workout.

  5. It sounds like it. Oh that I could have joined you today. I needed that sort of peace.

    DianeCA: You are lucky enough to live by the lake though. Do your puppies like the water??

  6. Hi! I wanted to let you know that if you follow http://www.dackelprincess.com in your Google or bloglines reader, you will need to unsubscribe and then resubscribe to get the feeds. I switched my platforms from Movable Type to WordPress and so the feed switched.
    I hope you’ll follow me!
    Maribeth
    The Dackel Princess

    DianeCA: Thanks for the update!!!

  7. beaches really are good for the soul. i feel so refreshed after some time at a beach.

    also getting here late but good luck to all the students in your house this school year. πŸ™‚

    DianeCA: Thanks we got a house full! But summer isn’t over yet and I refuse to let it just slide by in our busy days!!

  8. Me too, I need to see and to listen to the water and the waves, from time to time. And it’s really good for the (my) soul too, I know that!

    Nice post!

    DianeCA: And lucky you South Caroline boasts some beautiful beaches…and a little more warm sunshine then we have…

  9. I do agree with and so happy you took this trip with your friends. The very best thought, was when you came home to me and described this adventure to me in passion – you enriches my life by enriches yours you know πŸ˜‰

  10. What a beautiful body of water. I actually love the cooler water. As a native of Pennsylvania I enjoy a brisk swim. Very refreshing. And it wakes you up quickly! πŸ™‚

  11. Oh how wonderful! Good for you! And I love how Renny talks about how passionate you were when telling him about it. It even adds to the wonderfulness of the post. πŸ™‚

  12. yes!I finally saw the picture of the beach!wow!its so bluish!really awesome…and of course,girl talk is on top of it,lol!

    its just good to relax every now and then.its getting colder,here,too..summer is gonna say goodbye any moment now,so just enjoy it while it last πŸ™‚

    ghee

  13. Ah, beach life is good. I felt today in the air that fall is slowly creeping in…

  14. I think I might be jealous. The water thing always gets me. I need more of it; consuming it just doesn’t cut it. Sounds like you really know how to live.

  15. What a lovely peace but our beaches here paled in comparison with the one in Norway.

    Still, it is definitely good for the soul.

  16. I agree with you! Nothing else than beach and a bath ! It is so healthy and super for the mental!
    A lovely moment to share with your best friends!

  17. I believe that, too – beaches/oceans are healing. And I feel that way about other bodies of water – lakes, rivers, waterfalls.

Leave a Reply

