About the changing world all around us

Getting things done!

Hi everybody! This is basically an I’m still alive post. I know I haven’t been in so much the past week, and haven’t been posting either…tsk tsk tsk!! Everything is fine at our place, I am just busy with a lot of deadlines coming up.

Nobody is steering the ship!!!

Nobody is steering the ship!!!

I worked the weekend shift at the Crisis Center, and on my so called free time I have been writing not one but TWO term papers for two different subjects, plus I have one exam coming up. Writing two term papers requires almost aย split personality. I have to make sure that I organise my time so that I work on both, and don’t get totally hung up (or avoiding) one or the other. I have basically Xed out so many hours early in the day for one subject and then so many hours late in the day for the other.

Don’t feel too sorry for me though, I am really whipping myย butt along right now because I am going to Germany with Renny this weekend, and next weekend I am going on a trip to Copenhagen with my coworkers. While on these two trips I will surely be thinking of all my blogging friends and taking lots of pictures so I have something to post when I am done with all this course work.

I am completing these two courses with a mixed feeling though. On the one hand I want to get it all finished to relieve the stress, on the other hand these are my last two classes! The rest of the year I will be writing my thesis and then I will be finished with my degree. I am looking forward to being finished and living like a normal person again, you know with free time and all! On the other hand I like my classes, I like my fellow students, and I enjoy learning, discussing and being with people who have the same interests as I do. I will miss being a student. I have to say that it has been an honor and a priveledge to be able to take a new education at this grown-up period in my life. I was at New York State University (at Albany) when I was 20, I did not expect to be studying again when I was over 40 and had a 20 year old son also going to the University. If I only knew then what I knew now……well at least I know it now, and I am setting a good example for my 20 year old son who knows much more of what to expect from his studies after watching mom’s ups and downs!!

So bear with me, I will be around when I can!!!

Comments on: "Getting things done!" (14)

  1. I can vividly remember my last class. You will miss school for a bit and then you will get busy with other things. You will remember when you look at the beautiful diploma though. I know I do.

    Have fun the next two weekends. Big hug to you and Renny. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Enjoy yourself on the upcoming trips. Sounds like you could use a breather.

  3. I can imagine a little bit how you feel when it comes to your studies, although I didn’t go as far as getting a Phd!

    Being a student is different… yet I hope you will have many opportunities in the future, big brain Diane ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. newwrldyankee said:

    I feel you there! Exam stress is getting to me, too. I have finally a few weeks to study in peace, with out stress and get caught up on your goings-on! Good luck with both papers, and here’s to hoping your two personalities come together before your trips!

  5. it sounds like you’re in the home stretch. enjoy your trips. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I admire you, you rock, Diane!!!

  7. Keep up the good work. Just allow some down time to recuperate from all the demands . Stress is the killer to the immune system.

    I have yet to visit Germany. Please do share. Have fun!!!! You deserve it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I’m proud of you dear – that’s all you need to know – besides; I love you of course ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Glad for the update… and it seems that real life is way more pressing.

    We will be here when you return..

    Jess

  10. Well, we’ll not abandon you that easy ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds like you’re seeing a light in the tunnel though. I don’t think it’s a good thing to be put under all that stress, even if it’s giving you much too. But that’s my belief.

    Good luck hugs

  11. Good luck to you ๐Ÿ™‚
    Enjoy those trips and the last classes. I have been a student again as a “not twen” and I have loved it, but it was learning languages so I didn’t have the pressure of term papers or exams.
    You should be very proud of yourself!

  12. I admire you. Going back to school again and having to juggle so many roles. It’s great that Renny is giving you lots of support in what you are doing.

    Enjoy yourself on the trips and don’t forget, I’m waiting to read about them.

  13. I understand you very well as I have a nice memory of my studies at the Law University! It was the good time!

Leave a Reply

