About the changing world all around us

Let me begin for thanking you for the last 12 months. 2008 was a good year and it was great to meet or keep in contact with so many friends out in cyberspace, and of course to share good times with my friends and family at home. Renny and I rang in the New Year with friends and fireworks, which he took a nice video of. So stay around he will have it up within a couple of days. I am happy to report he is getting around a bit better, but his back is still keeping him off the computer much of the time.
Happy New Year from Diane & RennyBA

Happy New Year from Diane & RennyBA

Many fine things have happened in 2008. Both of my children have begun new phases in their education. My youngest son began high school and is taking electrical study, and my oldest son began at the University of Oslo and is taking Sociology. Easter was spent with Renny’s family as usual with lots of snow and especially good easter eggs! In the spring I completed my first year of my Master degree, and in the fall I finished the first half of my second. Now we are in the process of a research project and writing my thesis to finish up my studies. 2009 will bring some changes in my career, I hope at least! Since I will be qualified for new jobs and new adventures.

New Years Sunset

New Years Sunset

This afternoon around 3:30 we took a walk to the beach and found this beautiful sunset. At the darkest part of the year the sunset is quite early so I had to actually hang up from a call to my brother in order to make sunset on the beach hehehe. But since it was 9:30 am on the east coast of the US and I got him out of bed I don’t think he minded all that much. Sunset pictures are taken with my SonyEricsson G502 telephone camera.

Sunset over Vänern

Sunset over Vänern

So to start the new year off right let me offer you this wish:

“Every new year people make resolutions to change aspects of themselves they believe are negative. A majority of people revert back to how they were before and feel like failures. This year I challenge you to a new resolution. I challenge you to just be yourself.” Aisha Elderwyn

Comments on: "New Years Sunset in the middle of the afternoon" (17)

  1. I’m just going to be myself. Excellent advice.

    Love the shots. I can’ imagine it being dark most of the time. Norway is one place I want to visit someday.

    Have a terrific day and a very Happy New Year. Big hug to you and Renny. 🙂

    DianeCA: Renny will get your hug, I promise, and if you ever want to visit Norway we will put you up!! Always fantastic to have visitors…I do recommend the summer months though hehehe!

  2. That is so beautiful! 😀

    DianeCA:
    Thanks! But not as beautiful as you and your little kitty friend!! Happy New Year!

  3. Butch Bassett said:

    Diane,
    Since I was a little hung over and had not had any coffee, I was okay with your decision to get off the phone and watch the sunset.. Actually a sunset with your husband is a great way to start the new year.

    ALSO: Andrea is so happy that you have a “Tell BLM Don’t Kill Wild Horses” banner on your blog. As wild horse owners this issue is very near and dear to the two of us- I hope that you can come to NC and meet our “wild” Mustang.

    Happy New Years!

    Love
    Butch

    DianeCA:
    Hi Butch! Nice of you to stop by! I have had the wild horses badge on my blog for almost a year now I think! And of course I thought of you two when I put it up!!

  4. Cheers to another good year Diane and thank you for sharing your life with us too 😀

    DianeCACheers to you too! And the sharing has been a pleasure. Great to meet good people from all over the world.

  5. Happy New Year, Diane. And to Renny also. I hope he recovers soon. I do know how it is with a bad back. I was laid up nearly a month earlier in 2008.
    Anyway, cheers. Here’s to a good year!

    DianeCA:Cheers to you! Yeah poor Renny has it pretty bad actually. He is getting around a bit better but can only be at the computer a short time, writing and driving are pretty tough right now.

  6. Beautiful sunset ! Hope Renny’s back will be better soon I don’t know what he has exactly. Our days are short too but still a little longer than yours. Sun raises at 8.30 and disappears before 5. It depends if it’s sunny or not.

    DianeCA: The one good thing about the winter is at least you have time to see the sunsets

  7. The sunsets are beautiful, so romantic. My resolutions for 2009: trying to be positive in all circumstances, active, reactive, organized! and if I arrive to do that I’ll be very satisfied of myself!
    I begin to have problems with my back too! Need massages I think…I don’t want that for 2009!
    Happy New Year Diane!

    DianeCA:That sounds like a pretty big order. You are fantastic as you are, you are very positive and you are only human! Try to do better but dont be hard on yourself either 🙂

  8. i’m glad renny is having some relief, hope that continues. congrats on coming as far as you have with your studies and best wishes as you complete your thesis. thanks for those gorgeous pictures too. so very serene looking.

  9. So beautiful and tranqil! Our sun sets at 4:50 now and we think that’s a great thing now that we see 1 more minute a day of sun!

    HNY, Diane, and good luck with your studies.

  10. Thanks for the comment! Are you vegan or thinking of becoming vegan?

  11. What a gorgeous sunset!

    I hope Renny’s back is feeling better soon. That’s no fun to start off the year that way.

    Happy 2009 to you!

  12. Thanks for the updates, Diane.

    How did Renny get his back hurt? I hope he’s getting better each day. I miss his teasing. My prayers are with you both.

    I’m certainly looking forward to reading your posts again after your long break. You live in a beautiful country and I would love to hear about your life there.

    I’m seeing Norway through yours and Renny’s eyes, darling! *hugs*

    Send my hugs to Renny too.

  13. Hello Diane! Those are lovely photos and I hope Renny feels well now regarding his back. I learned about it when he wrote me on email to implement some scripts in his blog.

    Anyway, Happy New Year to you and to your family!

  14. Beautiful colors in that susnet. A very happy New Year’s to you!

  15. Both the sunset photos are amazing! I’m looking for a new phone and I must say, SonyEricsson G502 is now top of my list 😉

  16. And a very Happy New Year to you Diane! Love the photos.
    xx

  17. Very nice sunset photos in that crispy cold air!! To you too as well belated happy new year and all the best for your study work. I’ll cross my fingers until the end for you! 🙂

    Sue’s Daily Photography

Leave a Reply

