About the changing world all around us

Have you thought about gratitude lately? Most of us have so much to be grateful for, but it is easy to oversee these people, or things in a busy day. We get used to our blessings just being there for us, and obsess over our problems, our unmet needs, or unfulfilled desires.

Grateful for the summer we have shared

Grateful for the summer we have shared

Nothing is as uplifting to your spirit as positive energy. Each day I try to take a moment to simply show my appreciation for life every day. On my bus trip to work or while I’m standing in that annoying line at the supermarket, I use that minute to reflect on what I have, rather than what I don’t have. Sometimes when I can’t fall asleep at night I use a trick I learned some years ago. I go through the alphabet and try to think of one thing to be grateful for each letter of the alphabet. I rarely make it to Z….but then I am rather grateful for those zzzzzzz’s too!

Smile and laugh often to help you feel better, and to help others around you feel good. As you well know smiling and laughing are contagious. Learn to forgive. Let go of anger and grudges, so you can focus on more positive things in your life.

With a little bit of planning, you’ll see improvements to your mind, body and soul throughout the year. I invite you now to leave a comment with one thing you are grateful for!! And I am very grateful for meeting all of you, and that you come in and visit me even when life is way too busy!!

Have a wonderful weekend. I will be spending mine working at the battered women’s shelter. (I am a crisis therapist there, not a volunteer…just to clear that up because sometimes the comments show people are confused.) Many people react to the fact that I work at the shelter like this must be a terribly sad and tough place to work. Well it is tough sometimes, but it is also very uplifting. Here is a place overflowing with gratitude, belief in the future, belief in the ability to change, and beautiful caring between fellow sisters in trouble. It is an endless source of inspiration and I am grateful for that as well.

Comments on: "Be Grateful in 2009. You are worth it!" (11)

  1. Right on the money Diane. I too am very grateful for the many blessings in my life. If we just stop and recognize them we will find there are many things.

    Have a terrific day. Big hug to you and Renny. 🙂

    DianeCA: I so much agree. Some of us have troubles of course but most of us really have every material thing we need, and it is the non-material life that we need to care for.

  2. I am grateful for life. I honestly feel that I have more opportunities than anybody could ever wish for.

    You are obviously perfect for your job Diane – that’s wonderful. Nothing more inspiring than a person who enjoys what they do.

    Have a great weekend.

    DianeCA: I did and I hope you had a great weekend too. Sorry to answer my comments a bit late, the weekend shift is long and doesn’t give me much ‘puter time.

  3. My dear friend, you are so right. We must be thankful for all we have. The last few weeks when I watched my wonderful Husband struggle with his stroke, I cried. I am so thankful for all that we have had and now he is a bit better, I am thankful that we have a chance for more wonderful time in our future.

    DianeCA:
    And I am happy for that too, because you two are so perfect for eachother. I am happy he is improving! And hope you are doing well too.

  4. I`m grateful I have the freedom to do what I like. Writing, drawing, traveling, expressing myself… and this is not a given everywhere.

    DianeCA:
    No it is not to be taken for granted. And these talents are your gifts and should never be taken for granted.

  5. I reflect on what I have to be grateful for all the time. Keeps me going.

    DianeCA:
    I do believe it is important to be aware of the blessings in our life and put more weight on that then on our hardships. Every day of our life is a new opportunity.

  6. I wish you a nice weekend too, Diane. We are leaving Charleston on Tuesday. Tomorrow I will plug out the connections of my laptop.

    See ya later…! 🙂
    Susanne

    Sue’s Daily Photography

    DianeCA:
    We will miss you and welcome you back soon!

  7. Now that I don’t have to prove anything to anybody anymore, I can do what I want and just enjoy life ! I am still learning new things, and blogging is the ideal job for a retired person who always loved to write !

    DianeCA: And a wonderful way to keep a dairy and share your experiences and curiosity with the world.

  8. Diane,
    you are so right: Think Positive.

    Among my best memories from last Summer is when Anna and I did visit you, once again, in Mariestad. This Beach is, may be the trip I’ll remember best:
    The Ferry over to the Islands and our Biking to this wonderful, secluded Beach. The all five us did enjoy swimming, the Nature and Wonderful Weather.
    – In spite of the return with an allmost empty gas tank (remember?), we returned to, as usual, a heavenly dinner.

    Thanks for all the positive memories from 2008.
    Also Anna’s 3×20 Celeb, when you both was so kind to bring our friends from Holland to and from Holmsbu.
    Hope we can meet frequently during 2009 as well.

    DianeCA: Good friends like you and Anna are amoung our blessings and both Renny and I are greatful for having you in our lives.

    Hugs Tor and Anna

  9. I am so grateful for all the things that I have too and most of all I am so blessed to get to know you and Renny through blogging 😀

    DianeCA: Thank you and we are blessed as well, and you have so many other friends visiting your blog, I am sure you have a lot of fun with it!

  10. this is one of the reasons i do “da count” at my place most fridays. i sure like your alphabet game though. i think i will use that myself!

    DianeCA: I love to read your “da count” and always make it in on Friday! The alphabet game usually works like a charm. When I have been really down I have even included pantyhose without any holes in my gratitude list hahaha!

  11. There is so many things to be grateful for that I almost can’t say just one, but I think you know what is the first one on my list: LOVE.

    …the last one right now is that we’re so grateful that we only have had the flu and not has got pneumonia as we did in 2005…. because we’re still coughing badly.

    ((hugs))

    DianeCA:
    Well here is hoping you recover soon!! And I so much agree, love is number one for me too!

Leave a Reply

