About the changing world all around us

On Valentines day it is time to think about love and what it means to us. I have to admit that the big V crept up on it this year. We don’t really need an excuse to show that we love eachother, we do a good job of that on a daily basis…however it usually does involve a card and Renny usually buys flowers. This year everything has been a little off balance and Valentines day is suddenly here. So how do we celebrate then?

Well we took a nice walk out in the sunshine and the snow, took some nice pictures and bought some Swedish candies in the local shop in Mariestad. We stopped in to the sports shop to say hi to the staff that we know well, and I made Renny’s wish for dinner, Coq au vin (french – chicken and wine sauce).  We are somehow beyond chocolate hearts and cupids, we have a good life together every day we are together. While I feel we shouldn’t forget Valentine’s day, so I think we are much better off celebrating our relationship every day.

But well since it is Valentine’s day I would like to wish all my friends and family a happy Valentine’s and hope you have a good way of celebrating, if not with a partner then with someone else you care about.

And I will give my Valentine’s wish to my Dear Husband Renny BA:

Valentines Wish

Valentines Wish

You are like an answered prayer. Thru our eyes we met and we knew immediately we are meant for each other. You don’t care about my past ,you accepted me as who I am. You came to my life when I needed you most. You’re the greatest Valentine Gift I ever had. I will keep you always inside my heart..this I tell you. I love you always.

From Sonnets from the Portuguese by Elisabeth Barrett Browning (1806-1861)

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and height
My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight
For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.
I love thee to the level of everyday’s
Most quiet need, by sun and candle-light.
I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;
I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.
I love thee with a passion put to use
In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.
I love thee with a love I seemed to lose
With my lost saints, — I love thee with the breath,
Smiles, tears, of all my life! — and, if God choose,
I shall but love thee better after death.

Norwegian translation for “min kjære”

Hvordan kan jeg elsker deg? La meg telle måter.
Jeg elsker deg til den dybden og bredden og høyden
min sjel kan nå, når følelsen er ute av syne
for endene av tilværelsen og ideell er nåde.
Jeg elsker deg til nivået av hverdagens
stille behov, ved sol og levende lys.
Jeg elsker deg fritt som menn strever for rett;
Jeg elsker deg rent, som de slår fra seg falsk ros.
Jeg elsker deg med lidenskapen av
mine gamle sorger, og  min barndoms tro.
Jeg elsker deg med alle kjærlighet av mine tapte
helgener, – jeg elsker deg med pusten,
smilet, og tårer av hele mitt liv! – Og om Gud vil,
skal jeg elsker deg ennå høyere etter døden.

Comments on: "Valentines day thoughts and wishes" (14)

  1. My Dear Diane; You know you are my greatest Valentine Gift too. Never have I experienced unconditional love like yours. You are my best supporter and companion on our life road and I hope we still have a long way to go!
    Happy Heart Day my Dear 😉

  2. Happy belayed Valentine’s day to you too ! what a cute picture of you both.
    I got a wooden cat (lol) for Valentine’s day, although it is not a long time we “celebrate” because it just didn’t exist years before ! It only came up slowly the last 5 years maybe. And as you say we don’t need a Valentine’s day. But it’s nice for gifts !

  3. That’s a lovely picture and Diane….. you look so pretty! Strålende vakker.

    Happy Valentines Day.

  4. awwww… how sweet! Both of you are made for each other.

    It’s Valentine’s Day everyday for us loving couples!
    Happy Hearts’ Day, Diane and Renny!

  5. There is somethign a litle sinister about the expression “the big V.” But a Happy one to you anyway!

  6. I’m sure you had a wonderful day. Lovely photo of the love birds – and of course I love the bubble bottle 😛

    Well, as I said in my V-post:

    “All you need is a sunset – and that is enjoyable everywhere in the world – and your loved one”.

  7. […] know it was called biathlon in English, and I described it as ski shooting. Some years later Diane told me that when I described it to her she had a sort of image of James Bond in one of his films […]

  8. Awww both of you look so sweet and a match made in heaven indeed! Anyway, belated Happy Valentines Day to both of you.

  9. Awww, what a wonderful post. You two are such wonderful lovebirds. You are both an inspiration to me.

    Have a terrific day and week. Big hug to you and Renny. 🙂

  10. So sweet there Diane and I can smell romance every day here instead of waiting for Valentine’s Day 😀

  11. you and renny are an inspiration. bless you both now and always.

  12. Just a quick hello from Berlin! Love the picture of you two! One of my favorite couples. Hugs to you and Renny!

  13. What a wonderful, romantic post and great shot of you two!

  14. Happy belated love day!! ❤

Leave a Reply

