About the changing world all around us

This weekend we have just been trying to take it easy and enjoy life. We both have enough pressures going on everyday that we need to keep our weekends available for rest and relaxation. A part of that is enjoying good food, the one thing all humans over the whole world use for comfort and good times. We like good home cooked meals, made with wholesome ingredients and no artificial colours, flavours or fillers.

Cooking with wine

Cooking with wine

Saturday we were cooking with Wine…Coq au vin , or rooster in wine sauce, is one of the most widely known French country dishes. Different regions of France have their own variation of Coq au vin using their local regional wine, and the ingredients vary according to the tastes of the chef, but generally include rooster, wine, mushrooms, carrots, onions, celery, parseley and thyme.

Bubling along and almost done

Bubling along and almost done

Originally I began with a basic recipe at Renny’s request because he loves this dish, but quickly learned my own modifications. I highly recommend trying this although it looks complicated it is in fact quite easy. You basically cut up the ingredients, fry the onions and spices in a bit of oil, brown the chicken (or rooster) and basically put everything up in the pot and let it just bubble along for an hour or two. It’s one of those lovely foods that the longer you let it slow cook the better it tastes.

Mmmmmm country good cooking!

Mmmmmm country good cooking!

Renny my dear husband just can’t wait to dig in!!!

Renny just cant wait!

Renny just can't wait!

But since we have been talking about feminism and equal opportunities for both MEN and women I should let you know that my favourite blogger and husband is also an excellent cook. Today I took a well deserved power nap and when I woke up the king of the kitchen was almost finished making Pepper marinated steak with onions, mushrooms, brussel sprouts, rice…and yes red wine sauce πŸ™‚

Rennys steak dinner

Renny's steak dinner

And that’s not all! Since all you ladies out there are already thinking I’ve got a good husband let me show you what we did today! We took a little trip to the neighbouring town to buy something new….

Vroooom

Vroooom

We bought a new vacuum cleaner and here is my guy trying it out!! You know how it is, its got an electrical cord and buttons….Renny just has to try it out hehehe!!

Hope you all had a good weekend!! I know it is not Monday, but we took an extra long one!

Comments on: "I love cooking with wine, sometimes I even put it in the food!" (14)

  1. You two eat so very well. That all looks yummy. I can so relate about the wine too. Sometimes it actually makes it into the dish.

    Have a terrific long weekend. Big hug to you both. πŸ™‚

    DianeCA: Well a little wine in the glass while cooking makes the end result taste better no matter what πŸ™‚

  2. You trained Renny really well! πŸ˜† Wine in food adds a lot of flavor. I like it too!

    DianeCA: Actually I use wine in a lot of dishes. I can no longer make pasta sauce without it for example – if we are out of wine we don’t make pasta because it just doesn’t taste the same. It goes in most of our sauces, some soups, fish meals….and yes it does end up in the glasses too πŸ˜†

  3. Please…if you’re going to post pics with your blog, hand out drool bibs, ok?

    Nice work.

    DianeCA: As a professional chef yourself, that is a high compliment! It also means you are another cooking guy…and all us ladies just love guys that can whip up a dish, and the charm πŸ˜‰

  4. So now every one can tell and see; I’m the luckiest guy on earth – and in Blogsphere too πŸ˜†

    Besides: I’m the only one who got to taste this delicious chicken and I know you all envy me πŸ˜‰

    DianeCA: And you’re the coolest guy on the blogsphere…cause you can cook, and you got the charm πŸ˜‰

  5. Yes you are both the luckiest couple to be together πŸ™‚ I can see some white rice there am I right?

    You make me hungry already Diane πŸ˜‰

    DianeCA: Yes ma’am we had white rice with both dishes, Jasmine rice to be exact. Not instant, not preflavoured, and not Uncle Bens!!

  6. Cooking with wine is good for the soul – I truly believe that.

    DianeCA: I so much agree. Enjoying your life, as it is right now. Taking time to smell the roses, or taste the food is so important. I try my best to live this way. I don’t always succeed but I try.

  7. I am just about to put in a Sauer Braten to cook for our dinner tonight. I love to slow cook it. It’s been marinating several days and should be great. Yes, I will serve it with red wine!

    DianeCA: Could you post your recipe or send it to my email. I love Sauerbraten and never have made it myself. I just happen to have bought a large beef roast this weekend!

  8. the two of you have such a lovely relationship. makes me smile.

    DianeCA: Thanks, makes us smile too!

  9. Your post has made me very hungry!! everything looks fantastic!
    Loved seeing Renny trying out your latest buy πŸ™‚

    DianeCA: Yes men are especially cute when they do housework!

  10. The food is making me hungry!

    Renny’s such a handy guy to have around. Can I borrow? haha…

  11. I adore le coq au vin of course and my way to cook it is the provenΓ§al one with garbit, olive oil and the cΓ΄te de provence red wine. Yours looks so delicious on the picture! i’m feminist too and have the chance to have an husband who loves cooking! i didn’t know Renny did so great cooking! Ha!ha! Renny looks like a pro of the vacuum cleaner!

  12. I remember having Coq au vin at your place and it was sinfully delicious. But your homemade apple pie, gee that’s HEAVEN!

  13. I love the last picture:
    A Man and his Machine – vrooom – full speed.

    Coq au vin is very good. It’s a pity we are not able to get hold of real old Coq’s in Norway. But I have tasted the real thing in France.

    I know you both are great cooks and love to make food from the bottom.

    Have a great weekend with lots of healthy and tasty food.

  14. Could you send Renny around here to do some cooking and vacuuming please – my partner does most of the cooking and could do with a break now and then πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

