About the changing world all around us

As you all know I am pretty busy these days and haven’t much time for blogging. So bear with me if I come and go a bit. This is the busiest time of my entire study as I am now producing my research paper. It is exciting and challenging, and sometimes I am not at all certain that I will finish in time!!

However since today is friday and there was some adorable news which caught my eye I am taking a break to put up something cute for you all! I had never heard of this particular breed of leopard before, they are very rare and inhabits countries of the Himalayas, southern China, and Taiwan to peninsula Malaysia.

New born rare baby cloud leopards

New born rare baby clouded leopards

The pair of day-old clouded leopard cubs are hand fed every three hours by the zoo keepers. They are removed from their mother because clouded leopards are sometimes aggressive and kill their cubs.

An extremely regal father!

An extremely regal father!

These were born on Tuesday at the National Zoo’s Conservation and Research Center in Front Royal, VaΒ  and are the first to be born at the Center in 16 years. Breeding clouded leopards in captivity has been a challenge, primarily due to male aggression, decreased breeding activity between paired animals, and high cub mortality.

Baby clouded leopard

Baby clouded leopard

The National Zoo’s team has learned how to reduce the risk of fatal attacks by hand-rearing cubs for socialization and also introducing males to their mates when they are six months old, allowing the pair to grow up together.

Comments on: "Fuzzy friday… baby clouded leopards born at Smithsonian" (10)

  1. Wow! They are beautiful!

  2. The fateher is fearsomely gorgeous – hard to imagine those adorable little fluffballs growing up into him.

  3. You will always be my tiger baby πŸ˜‰

    Can we go to bed now? πŸ˜†

  4. Dear Diane,
    first of all we, as we say in Norway, cross our fingers for a super exam.

    The – well you know, we are cat fans, so every kind of cats are fir us adorable, even though the large cat’s can easely kill us – you photos are brilliant.

    Have a great weekend.
    All of you

  5. Or, cuties! I’d love to hold them… when they are still young!

  6. Beautiful animals.

  7. oh the babies are so adorable and the father…my goodness but he is a gorgeous creature.

  8. Nothing fuzzy at all…..soon they would be fiery πŸ˜‰ Absolutely Gorgeous!!

  9. Gorgeous. I love their pink little noses πŸ˜‰

    Have FUN with Gattina tomorrow!!!! I’m so happy that some of my cruisers are meeting up again πŸ™‚

  10. They are so cute!!!! i would like to take them in my hands … and kiss them! I see you had a such great time in Waterloo with Gattina! i enjoy blogfriends’ meeting and think to our next one this summer!

Leave a Reply

