About the changing world all around us

Fall is sneaking up on us!

Fall is truly arriving in Norway now. Summer is definitely over. We can tell by the cooler temperatures and first hint of yellow on the birch trees.

Still warm enough for the kids to wade but the colors are changing

Still warm enough for the kids to wade but the colors are changing

There are other ways to see that fall is here. Fall is the time to harvest fruits and berries. Nature’s abundance is waiting just around the bend. On a recent walk in the woods we discovered lots of wild cranberries growing along side the trail. This is obviously a good year for cranberries! They do not grow as well each year, they tend to have good and bad seasons. Maybe it is because we have had a bit of a cold summer that they grew so well? They are a northern berry after all.

Fresh fall cranberries. I love them! The man isnt bad either LOL!

Fresh fall cranberries. I love them! The man isn't bad either LOL!

Another sign that fall is here is that the apples are already changing color. I used to love picking apples in the orchard. Now I don’t get the chance as often but I still like them as fresh as possible. The first of the local apples have been harvested now, and I could just smell that they were wonderful. Apples which have been shipped and stored don’t smell much like apples, but these smelled just glorious! So good in fact that I was inspired to bake!

Seasons first apples!

Seasons first apples!

Here you see the end result: A typical Norwegian apple cake. Although I am used to making apple pie from growing up in New York, making a Norwegian apple cake is much easier! No pie crust to roll out! Needless to say the results were good enough to eat!

Norwegian Apple Cake...yummmm!

Norwegian Apple Cake...yummmm

Whenever I make anything with apples I am not sure if it tastes or smells best…the smell of baked apples is just so good. I can still smell it in the kitchen and it reminds me of my childhood. Hope you all have a good weekend! And are enjoying the season wherever you may be.

Comments on: "Fall is sneaking up on us!" (14)

  1. You know I love apples too. Here is a great recipe for apple crisp, and it is so easy.
    Apple Crisp

    8 large baking apples (MacIntosh or Cortland)
    ½ cup butter chopped into tiny pieces
    ½ cup Oats
    ½ cup flour
    ½ cup brown sugar
    1 tsp. cinnamon
    ¼ tsp. Nutmeg
    ¼ tsp. Ground Cloves

    Peel and cut apples into large size slices. Place in a greased deep casserole dish. In a separate bowl mix butter, flour and oats into a crumb like mixture. Add sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves and mix well.

    Mixture should be crumb like. Spread evenly over the top of the apples allowing some of the mixture to settle into the apples.
    Bake at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for about 45 minutes or until you see bubbles coming up from the apples. The butter will melt and the crumb mixture should be nice and brown on the top. Cool slightly, serve warm with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream….

  2. Oh dear Diane,
    what a wonderful post about the early Fall here up in the North.
    It’s allways so sentimental this periode of the year, due to the brutal fact our Summers are so short.
    But when dressed properly – we can explore the beauty of the Nature – with 4 seasons.

    Wish we could have stayed with you this weekend in Mariestad,
    but we will in some weeks time.

    Have a great Sunday

    hugs T and A

  3. Yes, fall can be so brutally beautiful. It makes me very sad since I love spring & summer so much. Fall is the worst season since I know that I have soooo many months left longing for summer….

    Great photos! I can smell the apples. And certainly the apple pie!!! But: no vanilla sauce to the pie….??????

    Yummy x millions

  4. I’m more of a summer person, but I agree autumn has its uses. Apples are certainly a plus point. How do you make Norwegian apple cake by the way?

    England feels very autumny too. Bye bye summer…

  5. What a yummy post there Diane and I could literally smell the apple pie off my screen 😀

  6. Glad you like the man as much as the cranberries! 😆

    @all: I can tell you: the apple cake taste delicious!

  7. autumn is my favorite season of all. the crisp air and the beautiful colors are just glorious.

    yo uknow, i wouldn’t be at all upset if you share the recipe for that apple cake. i think i can smell it through the monitor.

  8. Thank for the apple recipe 😉

    Fall is coming here too. This week is much colder than last week, although the trees are still green.

  9. My friend Hege usually bakes apple cakes and we love. Sometimes I sliced a cake and toast it. Then spread it with jam and butter like bread. Yum!

  10. Fallis creeping in here, too, with some red leaves appaearing. But I’m not quite ready for fall foods!

  11. Miam!!!! This apple cake looks delicious! Finally now we have nice temperatures about 22/23 °!!! better than the 33 we had! But I have no time to explore the nature since I work a lot on week and we had a family gathering today! We began at 12h30 pm and finiished at 4h30 pm! and now I visit my blogfriends cause the week will still hard!
    I really adore cranberries!!!

  12. Can’t wait to see the beautiful colours of Fall!

    The Norwegian apple pie looks so delicious! I could almost smell it here. What’s the difference between this and New York Apple pie? Can I have the recipe?

  13. migrationdiary said:

    That apple cake looks scrumptious!

  14. The pie looks good and it taste good sure, I bet. Is there a piece left maybe…?
    Nice post, Diane 🙂
    Susanne

Leave a Reply

