About the changing world all around us

Facebook, Twitter and other forms for social media seem to be entering our lives for good. I have to admit to being on them about every day. This week I think they have saved me sanity as I have had a backslide…quite literally, as my back seems to have slid out of its proper position and has kept me hostage in the living room for most of the week. But are they the communication of the future, or are they the ultimate time wasters? Or both?

Facebook

Facebook

I have many uses for social media and definitely am not about to give it up. I am able to follow along with what my friends and family are up to. This has proved to be invaluable in the case of my sons, and my brothers. My oldest son has moved out, and as long as I can pop in and see that he has been active on facebook I know he is okay. I also keep in contact with my remaining family in the USA. They don’t always have time to send me an email, but it is nice sometimes to see that Johnny is online and say a quick hi. Ask about his wife and his job hunt and take an ever so small step into his daily life.

Twitter

Twitter

But it also opens our lives to many other people. My husband, RennyBA,  has 2,519 followers on Twitter, this year between his blog, Twitter and Facebook he had well over 100 well wishes for his birthday this 4th of November. And for all of you who sent him a card or a greeting he was very happy for this. But at the same time, that was a heck of a lot of completion. It’s not always easy for even me to get through all that ‘noise’. How does one compete with that kind of attention?Well one doesn’t, one rises above completion, at least I do.

Island Paradise game

Facebook game Island Paradise

And then there are the games, which I am hopelessly hooked on. I have cut down upon returning to full time work however. My favourites are Farmville, Island Paradise, Yoville, and Mafia Wars. But I wholeheartedly admit these are mindless time wasters. In fact that is kind of the point, when I am done with my work day my intelligent energy is pretty much used up solving the countless situations I am faced with on a daily basis. I am looking for a totally mindless outlet with an immediate reward. I was never much of a video game player but these facebook people, they are smart. They make games which appeal to women, and which can be played in 15 minutes a day…or you can use more time if you have more time. They are there to get us hooked, and to entertain us.

I have no other response here except to say that social media is here to stay. It is the communication of the future and it does connect us somehow to our past and far off worlds. I have regained contact with people which I haven’t thought of in years, others who I have thought of but lost contact with and wondered how they were, and I have learned new things about people I see every day.

You can’t live with it, you can’t live without it….but you certainly shouldn’t be left out. How do you use your social media? Or do you resist the urge to stay and play? Inquiring minds want to know, I want to know….

If you don’t know what Twitter is….Twitter is a free social networking and micro-blogging service that allows users to send updates via SMS, instant messaging, email, to the Twitter website, or any one of the multitude of Twitter applications now available.

If you don’t know what Facebook is….it’s a great way to meet friends and keep up on what they are doing. Once you add a friend to your Facebook friend list you will always know when they are adding things to their blog or updating their profile. Join Facebook groups to meet people like you, or browse the profiles to find new friends. Facebook’s classmates and co-worker search is good for finding friends too.

If you aren’t connected with me yet you can find me at Twitter by searcing for DianeCas, and on facebook by clicking on the link!

If social media isn’t enough and you want to meet us in person, don’t forget that you have the opportunity by joining the Oslo Blog Gathering 2009!!

Comments on: "Facebook, Twitter and social media. Can’t live with em can’t live without em!" (10)

  1. I do facebook mostly although occasionally I Twitter. And then, of course I blog.

    • It definately eats up my blogging time. Thats for sure, but i think I do it because it doesn’t require as much creativity? Maybe my standards are too high in blogging? I do have a perfectionist streak in me.

  2. I do fb, mostly to keep up with family and old friends, but don’t do any of the games or quizzes. Twitter appeals not at all to me. But blogging is the thing that I find most rewarding.

    • Some of the games I admit I play because I have friends that play them. For example I found an old highschool friend’s profile on facebook. It is fun to play Mafia Wars and Mobsters on the same team because the games reward you for having a team, and it gives more opportunities to say hi how ya doing.

  3. I don’t like Facebook and never use it, it’s only to see the pictures of my son (he draw me in there) and for Twitter I really have no time and it doesn’t look very interesting either. I prefer my good old blogging, lol !

    • You invest a lot of time in your blog. I think maybe it you tried to be everyplace at once you would spread yourself too thin. Sounds like a good decision!

  4. Okay, okay, I’m addicted – but then again; as a network evangelist, Social Media is an eldorado you know 🙂 Besides, You and I have met a lot of lovely people (also in real life), through blogging and FB.

    Btw: Hey, I have more than 2800 followers at Twitter! 😆

  5. Like you i am so happy when I can connect me with my family and particulary with my cousin living in Martinique, les Antilles. And of course with my daughter and her boyfriend Kalle who live near Norway in Finland.
    I am a FB adept but don’t want more. And even on FB I don’t play at games in order to have time in my real life. But now I couldn’t live without my blog you all my friends on the blogsphere! You are all a part of my dailylife and more since we had a such gathering at home this summer!!! You are a part of my life since three years now!

  6. Social media has become a lifestyle. No doubt they have a tremendous impact and connects people across borders and time zones.
    I should wish these technologies, that we take for granted, would be a part of development aid, to make this planet a better place for the millions that really struggles. To give them ideas and realations that can inspire for a better future.

    What me worries is the future and security regarding these free of charge applications.
    But, that’s another story.

    And it’s also an interesting question how to use such technologies in professional businesses and public services.
    Yesterday I came over a very interesting video presentation:
    https://www.lotuslive.com/styles/tours/EngageVideo.html

Leave a Reply

