About the changing world all around us

Today must be one of the most celebrated days in the world globally, almost everyone has something to celebrate. Some of my friends are celebrating the Chinese New Year, most of my friends are celebrating Valentine’s Day, and in Norway we are also celebrating “Fastelaven” which is the Sunday before the start of the fast, or lent.

Happy Norwegian Valentine

Happy Norwegian Valentine

For us this is the last day of quite a good weekend. On Friday night I was invited for a girls night at one of my best friend’s house. We shared some good wine and some good stories and enjoyed the time together again. There are three of us who earlier worked at the same kindergarden. We meet up as often as we can manage in a hectic life, and when we do we always have tons to talk about. These girls keep me sane!

Saturday I did something exciting I have been thinking about for a long time. I bought me a new computer, a laptop of course. Acer Aspire 5738G, quite a good machine with very good grafics and sound. Something important for me because I use my computer as much for entertainment as for work, and of course with such good cameras I have to be able to enjoy my photos on a quality screen. It is much lighter than my old one and a pleasure to work on…so you will have to forgive me if I have spent most of my time playing on it this weekend.

Acer Aspire

Acer Aspire 5738G

However we could not spend all of Valentine’s day on the computer. Renny, who has learned the demands of an American wife on Valentine’s day, bought me lovely long stemmed roses – and I had to find something nice for him, the man who has it all. Which was of course a new mouse since he has worn his old one out and it doesn’t work as well as it used to. Then we took a nice trip out to the Norwegian Folk Museum to see their Fastelaven (pre-lent) activities. In Norway it is tradition to make Fastelavens boller, sweet rolls filled with vanilla cream. At the folk museum they had an activity for the children to paint masks, as this celebration is also closely related to that of Carnival or Mardi Gras. All these celebrations are about using up the rich foods and forbidden products in lent.

2010 The Year of Metal Tiger

2010 The Year of Metal Tiger

Then of course there is the celebration of the chinese new year. Every Chinese new year falls on the day when the new moon occurs which changes track. It is also called the spring festival in most of the rural parts of china and other countries that are associated with Mandarin. The traditional Chinese calendar is compiled of a group of 12 years in which each year is associated with a particular animal. The Chinese New Year 2010 is associated with the animal “Tiger”. Tiger is an Earthly Branch symbol and it is clubbed with the element “Metal” this year. Hence the year 2010 is called the year of the Metal Tiger. Tiger is a ferocious animal and has a number of noble qualities.

Since I have friend from all over the world, I know quite a few who celebrate this day. I have two Chinese friends here in Norway and have learned to say” Gung hee fatt choi”, which loosely translates to “Congratulations and be prosperous”. And for my Vietnamese friends I learned to say An khang thịnh vượng (Security, good health, and prosperity). Both my Chinese and Vietnamese friends were pleased that I took the time to learn to greet them on this important day in their language. I think it’s the least I could do, they greet me in mine!

So wherever you are and whatever and however you are celebrating I think I will wish you Love and Happiness, as well as Prosperity, Security, and good health. Then I think I have covered all my basis, and what better blessing could man wish for on a day which is celebrated in so many ways?

Comments on: "Valentine’s Day, Chinese New Year, and the Sunday before Lent" (9)

  1. But Gung hee fatt choi is the Cantonese greeting, in Mandarin we say xin nian kuai le (新年快乐) 😉

    We had a WE of celebration here because of the Olympics + Chinese New Year (I’m still too European to understand Valentine’s Day and don’t really care about it).

    • I am really a beginner in Chinese, but I am really dying for some Dim Sum this week!! Maybe I will get it tomorrow. It must be awesome with the Olympics there. We are watching all the time now!

  2. Fastelavend sounds like carnival in German. In Köln, Düsseldorf and Mainz, they are all crazy now !

  3. Gong Xi Fatt Cai from me too Diane and what a great post all rolled into one 😀

  4. Hello Diane! Belated Happy Valentines and Chinese New Year! And congrats to the new computer purchase! TC!

  5. We have such great time with all those fests! thanks for the nice explanation about the tiger year and all. I hope this year will great and that we will have a lot of fun at the BG! Felicitations for the fabulous results you have for the Olympics!

  6. Ah, the joy of new techno stuff! *grin* Have fun! My next one gonna be a notebook kinda!

  7. Diane,
    and on top of all the celebration Events, we even had Mothers Day.

    Sorry I’m very late with my comment to this great post:
    It’s March 8 – so I had to mention even Mother’s Day as well.

Leave a Reply

