About the changing world all around us

The biggest news in Norway for the time being is Eurovision song contest. As the winner of 2009’s event we are the host of Eurovision 2010. The competition has already started with the first of 2 semi finals last night. Although the competition was tough, and not without surprises, only 10 finalists go on to the final. Bosnia & Herzegovina, Moldova, Russia, Greece, Portugal, Belarus, Serbia, Belgium, Albania and Iceland were the lucky countries that qualified for the Final of the 55th Eurovision Song Contest which will take place on Saturday (May 29th).

Norwegians hope of course to win again with our representative 22 year old Opera student, Didrik Solli-Tangen, with  “My heart is yours.”

However since you can’t vote for your own country, it is always interesting to decide who is most impressive of the other competitors. Out of last nights participants I liked Iceland with a strong and lovely ballad, “Je ne sais quoi” (although why she sings in French instead of Islandsk is beyond me).

Milan Stankovic from Serbia performs an upbeat, original and entertaining number which the crowd liked very much,

and of course Georgos Alkaios & Friends from Greece just get better with every performance with a real Grecian flare to the music.

Tonight we took some of the women and children from work down to see an open event just outside Oslo City Hall. Here there was a dance competition with a possibility of performing at the final, and of course being admitted to the final to see the show.

Dance contest

Dance contest

There were also a lot of information and promotional stands around Oslo this evening which of course we had to check out while we were there.

Information stand

Information stand

And happily I will also be attending the second semi-final tomorrow night, again with some of the people from my work. We were given 10 free tickets to take the girls out and have some fun. So stay tuned for more info on Eurovision and the second semi-final.

I must admit its quite fun hosting Eurovision 2010. There is an infectious excitement in the city. It’s a feeling of being a part of something very special. If you love Eurovision stay tuned because there will be two more posts to come!

Comments on: "Semi Final Eurovision 2010 Oslo" (5)

  1. I like the second one the best. She has a fabulous voice.

    Have a terrific day. Big hug to you and Renny. 🙂

  2. I remember Eurovision from years ago and the French singer at that time became well known and a film star – I forget a name now. You said you like the contestant from Iceland but did not understand why she sang in French, but the song has more English then French. I agree with you, they are representing their country and why don’t they sing in their own language. I do not see for example an American band contesting and singing in Albanian or Polish or another language. But then again why is the Norwegian guy singing in English? You know living here in the US I rarely, very rarely hear songs in different languages (unless I place the Mexican channel on) so when I go to France I’d like to buy some CDs of French singers. I put the radio on to find new French singers and what do I hear? The same English songs as I hear in the States, so I keep buying the old singers I know like Charles Aznavour. Even the French singers, they sing in English (sometime with terrible accents!) So in your clips I like the Greek singer and the one after him, a nice change from the constant English I hear which usually conform to the same rhythm. We need diversity in music too.

  3. Have a GREAT time tonight with the ladies.
    I have been away 3 weeks and come back to Oslo, Sun, Bloom and Eurovision life is very sweet indeed!
    Take Care

  4. Michele said:

    Oooh, Diane, I hope you’re having an excellent time tonight! My husband and I went to the First Semi-Finals Tuesday night and had a great time. I liked the same acts you did—Greece, Serbia, and Iceland. I thought Russia and Albania were pretty fabulous, too. Jeg er ganske glad i Melodi Grand Prix!

  5. I don’t remember the Eurovision was that big in France when I was there, or maybe I just didn’t watch.

Leave a Reply

