About the changing world all around us

We have now had two great weeks with Dad and Teri here in Oslo. The weather hasn’t cooperated all the time but we have made the best out of it and we have had a good time no matter what. We had four wonderful days in the Oslo area, four great days in Mariestad and three memorable days in Bergen. I am happy that they took two weeks this time so they had time with the kids and us and could really get an idea of how we live, what we like, and a good taste of Norway and even Sweden.

I know they have appreciated the time they were able to spend with us, and every time they visit I learn new things about my dad that I may not have understood as a kid. He is a really good guy, and his wife Teri is also very loving and tries to take care of and help everyone she cares about. My sons have really been around a lot lately which shows how much they want to be with their grandparents while they were here, and even Renny’s family has come to visit several times to get to know my family better. So all in all it has been a great success all around.

But tomorrow they have to get on the plane home. And while we need our lives to get more back to normal, and they do too, not to mention Dad’s vacation is over…it is still sad to let them go. I know it will be a long time before I see them again, at least a year. Next time will probably be in the USA, but then again who knows. The most important thing though is that we have really made the most out of the time we had here and now! I’ll miss you guys!!

Comments on: "Time to say Goodbye to Dad and Teri..for now" (9)

  1. And tons of wonderful memories that each of you will cherish as long as you live. I sure miss my parents. I would give anything for one more day with them.

    Have a terrific day. Big hug to you both. 🙂

  2. It is so good that your father came to visit you, this is a visit you will always cherish. My father was supposed to come and visit us in Atlanta with my mother one year, their first time, but then they had a car accident. My mother came but my father stayed behind because the doctor said he should recuperate and could come the next time. Unfortunately he died alone (at 65) while my mother was traveling back to France. It was very traumatic. My mother only saw her granddaughters maybe 3 or 4 times, that’s all. Anytime you have the opportunity to see your family is a good time. It sounded like you had a lovely visit.

    • A terribly sad story. They are not getting very old yet, but still I am grateful for every visit we get. We don’t see them that often, and of course you never know what can happen. It must have been awful for your mom 😦 And for you of course!!

  3. Are those your boys? Are you offended if I say they are very handsome??? 🙂

    Time with family is very precious. It’s never enough!

  4. Hey Diane…yes it is always hard to say Goodbye but remember …it is not Goodbye now but See You soon so I hope you’ll get to meet other soon 😀

  5. I agree with Shionge instead of goodbyes I’d rather say see you soon. And also I am thankful that through you dad and teri’s visit, we managed to meet you guys in Bergen since we couldn’t make it in Oslo during the blog gathering. It was a lovely dinner with the both of you and I am also glad to finally meet you in person.

    And I am also with Zhu your sons are quite a catch! 🙂

  6. Yea; we really had a good time showing them around and I do hope they appreciated it too! At least we can say we did the best to give them a good taste of our country and even a bit of Sweden too.

  7. Your sons are so handsome! Nice you all you had fabulous time in Norway and Sweden! It’s so nice to see your dad with his two grandsons on the picture! I understand how family gathering are intense when people don’t live at the same place. The time Anaïs was here was intense too! Luckely internet helps to wait the next meeting!

  8. Sounds like a very good time you all had together – both in Oslo, Bergen and Mariestad.
    Something to remember

Leave a Reply

