About the changing world all around us

Sorry I haven’t written often this week, I have tried to keep up with as many blogs as possible but have been rather busy so I haven’t had time to post myself. As many know Renny was away most of the week, and when he is away I try to fill my evenings with social activities so I don’t get too lonely. Monday was parents night at my son’s High School and my first opportunity to see what he does all day long when he is at school. Tuesday I invited the “Sandbox Mafia”, my little gang of friends for coffee and girl talk which lasted until almost 11 pm! And Wednesday I had plans with my friend Patricia.

Cooked Wonton

Cooked Wonton

Patricia is from Hong Kong and we share among other things the love of Chinese food. She has opened the door to many new people and new experiences, and we have enjoyed many good dinners and cooking experiments over the years. The plan on Wednesday was that she was going to come to my house and we were going to make steamed fish, a Cantonese delicacy we have made a few times before. Simple and very good!! However Patricia called me around noon and told me that she had been invited to a girlfriend’s house to make wontons. She told her friend she had plans with me, and I was invited to come along. Her friend had bought what she needed to make a large batch of wontons and there were more then enough for one more. Being flexible and enjoying new people I agreed to join them for dinner.

The girl was already finished with making the filling and was making the dough when we came. I was totally amazed at her skill! I am no expert at rolling out dough, and this girl was amazing. I have actually bought wonton wrappers in the freezer section and made some amateur wontons myself, but I never would have tried to make the dough. Ultimately it is a simple recipe and she used a small rolling pin to roll it into perfect thin circles, and we all could help filling them and wrapping them and boiling them until they were done.

The wontons were delicious, and I felt so lucky to have the chance to experience this little cosy evening. We sat around the table wrapping and cooking and eating for hours and had good time for small talk and fun.

I am so grateful for all my friends here in Norway. I took a big chance dropping everything and moving across the sea, to a whole new land, a whole new continent to be with Renny. I still have many friends in New York, but I don’t see them everyday anymore. It was actually hard work to find a new network of true friends, so now I really work hard at taking care of my relationships…and I find time and time again that those relationships take care of me.

Comments on: "Wonton and warmth in a friends kitchen" (17)

  1. I like Chinese food! My and my friends had Chinese yesterday and we ordered a lot. And I mean A LOT! Hahaha! Yum.

    DianeCA: Oh Ho where did you order from. Always looking for good places. One of the best I think is on Pilestredet, Beijing Palace I think it is called. About 200 yards before the tunnel under St Olav’s plass.

  2. You know I feel like the luckiest man in the world since you decided to come all this way to live with me and enriches it. I’m glad you’ve got so many good friends too – no wonder as the friendly and lovely person you are.

    It’s nice to travel a bit, but most of all its great to get back home to you 🙂

    DianeCA: AND I am happy that I took the risk, it was worth it. I am happy with my new friends, and my husband 🙂

  3. I always order Wontons dining out in a Chinese Restaurant – and would go far on my knees for good authentic Chinese food. 🙂

    This is a great post, Diane, I enjoyed it very much. Thank you for commenting on my blog.

  4. Mmm those look yummy! 🙂 Great friends are so wonderful to have!!

  5. Sometimes you need to take that leap of faith. The rewards are more than one could ever imagine!

  6. there is nothing learning to make these sorts of dishes from someone who grew up making them. looks sooo good!

  7. Looks familiar 😉

    My mother-in-law always asks me to help wrap spring rolls, jiaozi (raviolis) and wonton.

    I can’t say I’m good at that because it reminds me of rolling cigarettes… can I? 😆

  8. you’ll make new friends. but it sounds like you’re pretty busy with your primary relationships anyway.
    and yumm. i love anything chinese as long as its vegetarian and identifiable.

  9. Moving halfway around the world is a daunting thing (I moved to the US when I was in my pre-teens) but it’s always only a matter of time before you learn to love the new land you’re in and before you meet new amazing people. I’m glad you moved to Norway for a good reason which turned out to be a worthy cause. 🙂

    And that wonton looks divine! I think I might make some tomorrow…

  10. Hi Diane,

    please come over to my blog for a second or two, I have a SURPRISE for you! 🙂

  11. I love making (and eating) wontons. Especially the eating!

  12. Believe it or not – I’ve never eaten wontons. May have something to do with the fact that Chinese food is not exactly my favorite. but then, I’ve only tried it over here. Maybe homecooked – or even better: in Asia would be a much better alternative to really taste them as they should be?

    Must have been fantastic to watch someone so skilled at making them, it’s always a pleasure!

  13. This is absolutely wonderful to be able to try new food and indeed a wonderful time with wonderful friends 🙂

  14. I really love Chinese food. Wow, homemade won tons. Those look really good. I have never tried to make them.

    I have been too busy lately to tend to my blogs also. I truly understand. 🙂

    Take care,
    Titania

  15. Looks delicious! I think we will have Chinese take out tonight…

  16. That’s lovely! Chinese wontons in Norway! I won’t miss home if I go to Norway! Wheee!
    *surf internet, plan holiday in Europe*

  17. You were brave to do the big move but it was worth it. I think you have a wonderful life together. It is amazing how friendly people are and I can see how you’d be very open to and nurturing of your new friendships!

Leave a comment