About the changing world all around us

To get you in the 4th of July Spirit, here are some fireworks to enjoy. I especially like the brass band music. My youngest son played in the school band and it always brings a tear to my eye when I hear them play 🙂 Click on the video and you can enjoy the music while reading my post!

It is always a bit odd to be away from my homeland when there are American holidays like Independence day and Thanksgiving. However we do our best to keep our traditions alive as best we can. Today Renny and I spent out holiday on the golf couse, then we ate dinner out on our balcony, grilled of course. Normally we have ribs for the 4th of July, but since this first week of vacation it is just me and Renny, we will wait and have a second celebration tomorrow when my son and his friend come. They have spent the first week at his friend’s family cottage, and now we will have both boys for a week as well.

I remember we always had a 4th of July picnic with my parents when I lived in NY. It was a great time for a family gathering and my moms macaroni salad was one of my favorite foods. Later I became the potato salad champion of the family, and it was always my job to bring along that one. Or at least that is what they told me, I always liked moms potato salad too so I have a suspicion that it was just that she didnt like to peel potatoes hehehe!

July in the 80’s Dad’s boat!

I hope you all are having a fun day filled with food, friends, family, grilling and chilling! I hope you remember at this time that you are free, and fortunate to be able to speak your mind, vote your concience, surf the net without having your information sensored, marry whomever you please, and worship whichever God you believe in, or even none at all. Our freedom may not be absolute, and it may not be perfect. With freedom comes responsibility and accountability. Our free rights cannot go out over others rights and needs. However most of what we can say and do can be done without fear of persecution. And even if I disagree entirely with your opinion I will support your right to speak it, and the freedom to make your beliefs known to others.

So here’s wishing you a Happy Independence day! May it be one to remember!! Now drop by my husbands RennyBA’s post on the 4th of July and wish him a happy 4th of July as well!!

Comments on: "Happy Independence Day!!" (10)

  1. It was great spending another holiday with you dear and the dinner was delicious even if it wasn’t spare ribs.

    You looks cute in that boat – looks like a great adventure!

    Happy 4th of July to you, your family and all our friends over there!

  2. Happy Independence Day! Diane! You see, you make me curious about this national event and I will visit google to know more! What a nice photo, you posted here! I see a beautiful “frimousse” “beautiful child’s face” ! The good time of your childness with your dad! Very nice!

  3. […] about blog friends: Please visit Diane’s, an expat American’s post from today and send your greetings […]

  4. happy fourth of july to you too diane.
    as potato salad champion of your family,
    you have a great responsibility. what’s
    your secret?
    the one thing i know about
    potato salad is most store-bought
    salads have too much mayonnaise or
    salad dressing in them. you can’t taste
    the wonderful potatoes for all the sauce.

  5. Happy 4th of July, my dear! I send red, white and blue waving banners and fireworks to you through Cyberspace!~

  6. Happy 4th of July, Diane!

    Love and hugs,

    Diane J.

  7. Aunt Reenie said:

    I remember that young princess and her brother (peaking his head out from in back of her) too!
    A belated Happy Fourth of July!
    Love and Best Wishes to You and Your Family

  8. Happy Independence Day!! 😀

  9. Thanks for your kind wishes on my, Diane! Nice to “meet” you!

  10. I hope you had a great 4th July – even though you were in ‘foreign climes’ 🙂

    You have seen my son cooking ribs on my blog – it poured down with rain shortly afterwards – I’m glad your weather was better!

    Have a great time with your boys.

    PS The potato salad sounds delicious – will be trying that for sure….

Leave a Reply

