About the changing world all around us

Today is the 9th of November, which means that two years ago today a wonderful women left us behind. I do believe she went on to a better place where she would no longer be sick and no longer feel the pain of cancer or the frustration of losing her ability to function. It is very hard for us who are left behind, and although time makes it more bearable it doesn’t ever fill that whole which exists in our lives.

A lively lady

A lively Lady

My mom wasn’t perfect, but she was a good mom, and she loved us a lot. She brought the family together and kept us on our toes. She was also fun loving, social and active. She made time to play with us when we were children, although I remember she hated Shoots and Ladders 🙂 She made our clothes when we were little, and often made matching dresses for myself, her and my dollies. She was a genius at making gowns for my Barbies!

Mom and me

Mom and me

We were very close. She was the one most devastated when I decided to move to Norway, and the one who came to visit us most often here. We used to chat on MSN and later we used Skype or Yahoo to chat with voice chat or even a camera. We had web cameras, hehehe but after a few tries we decided we looked so bad in the morning that we didn’t need to see ourselves while we drank our coffee. You see we had a standing coffee date which we kept several times per week.

It was awful when mom got sick. I felt like I was going to lose my mind living so far away and unable to help. Fortunately I did manage to get time off and to come over to help her before she died. Her cancer was quite advanced though and there was little we could do but make her as comfortable and as happy as possible. She didn’t like being that way so I am grateful that it lasted only a short time.

Mom, if you are out there and you can hear this somehow, I miss you! I will always miss you! Thank you for all the good things you brought into my life. DeeDee

Comments on: "Remembering my mom, 2 years later" (16)

  1. I’m so sorry. I can relate though. I’ve lost both my parents and it’s very lonely at times. Big hug to you during this hurtful time. 🙂

  2. She was a great Mother In Law too and I miss her call, the internet chat and of course her visit to Norway. She was an open minded, easy going lady with a lot of care for her loved once and like you said: A family HUB – we all miss her!

  3. I’m sitting here smiling because it is easy to see that she raised a really great daughter and I love her for that!
    Hugs Diane. Remember, those we love are never really gone from us, as long as we keep their memories alive!

  4. Lovely tribute to your Mom.

    (I have to tell you, though, I immediately started giggling at the picture of the two if you because it looks like a little naked boy is attempting to climb onto your head!)

  5. She was a good mom- we rarely saw eye to eye but always loved each other. Things are different now that she is gone, but I guess that’s the way to has to be.
    Thanks for reflecting on mom and posting some fun pics.
    I love you and miss you.

    Butch

  6. You touched my heart Diane!!!!

  7. Hello Diane! You’re very lucky to have a mother like her. And of course she’s lucky to have you as well!

  8. Dear Diane, she is ‘never gone’ and always here with you and like you, I missed my Father too even though it has been almost four years since his passing.

  9. What a great tribute to your mom.
    It’s hard to loose a parent.
    My father died 20 years ago, but I still “talk” with him.
    And now my Son is buried the same place. It’s so emotionally when we are there with candles on the Family grave. We start talking and wiping – from all the good and bright memories.

  10. I speak the same language with my mother who died in the same conditions. I can understand your pain because i have the same too. Each day i miss her. She is in my mind each day, each night. And I realise the chance I have : my mother was an angel and I love her for ever.

  11. I,m sorry. Sad. Nice recording your mother.
    Hugs from Ibiza
    Maribel

Leave a comment